Welcome to the official website for the Cork Local Government Review.

On 15th January, 2015 the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, Mr. Alan Kelly, TD. established the Cork Local Government Committee under section 28 of the Local Government Act 1991. The Committee is required to carry out an objective review of local government arrangements in Cork city and county, including the boundary of Cork city, the local government areas and the local authorities for such areas, and to make recommendations for improvements in such arrangements.

The following persons were appointed as members of the Committee:

  • Mr Alf Smiddy (Chair)
  • Mr Tom Curran
  • Professor Dermot Keogh
  • Mr John Lucey, S.C.     
  • Dr Theresa Reidy.

A formal Public Notice was published on 30th January, 2015 inviting submissions with regard to the Review. Submissions are to be received by Friday, 6th March 2015, and can be made:

  • By hard copy to: The Secretariat, Cork Local Government Review, Floor 3, Civic Offices, City Hall, Cork
  • Or by e-mail to: submissions@corklgreview.ie (please note that the maximum size of individual electronic submissions to this e-mail address is 10MB).

The Secretariat can be contacted by telephone at 021-4924378.